Monday, August 22, 2011

Who? What? Where? When? Why?

Who: Some of the who was answered in the first post. But of course there is more to me and I’m sure it will come out as time goes on. So here are some extra tidbits about me. I like arts and crafts type things like crocheting and painting. I would like to learn how to sew. I also sing, play the piano and I play a little acoustic guitar.

What: Intentional: on purpose. This defines the type of parent I want to be for Isaiah. I am parenting Isaiah in a way that is different from how I was brought up. So instead of relying on what I know I have to purposefully seek other ways and purposefully apply them. Brown: The color of my skin. I usually don’t like to focus on skin color when it comes to things but since becoming pregnant I have found that there is a huge disparity regarding all things good for baby in the African-American community. Including mortality rates and breastfeeding to name a couple. Mama: a mother.That's what I am, and I take it very seriously.
Where: Virginia

When: Hopefully once  a week

Why: So I can have a place to express and share my thoughts and feelings about things I am learning about motherhood. I also hope to be a face for other mamas, particularly my fellow brown mamas.

(Please excuse this brown color. I'm still trying to figure this out!)
(Never mind, I figured it out!)

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Hi! I'm new here!

I finally decided to take the plunge and create a blog. The reason, I finally thought of a good name. Silly reason but it's the truth! I must admit I'm a little apprehensive about this. First off I'm wondering what I will write about. Second, I'm wondering if I'll be able to handle any criticism that may come my way. Only time will tell. Maybe no one will read this and I can hide in the blogosphere. So just in case someone besides my husband and a good friend are reading this let me introduce myself...

Hi, my name is Celeste. I'm married to "M" (haven't decided if I want to do real names, initials or nick names). I am a first time, stay-at-home mom to "I". I am 24 years old and a Seventh-Day Adventist Christian. I am becoming more and more alternative, hippy, crunchy (what ever you wanna call it) every day.

For all my parenting messag board people (or person)
I  AP HB, CD, EBF, BW, BS, and do a little EC. Learning to be a GCM!